National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

On or about Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 1000 AM Pacific Standard Time,1800 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the NWS Weather Forecast Offices in Elko, NV (WFO LKN) and Reno, NV (WFO REV) will reconfigure and rename many of the fire weather forecast zones in both county warning areas. After this change, all fire weather forecasts and related products for WFO LKN and WFO REV will use the zone number and names shown below.



Why are NWS Reno and NWS Elko Proposing to Change the Fire Weather Zones?


We have been asked by our local fire partners to match up our fire weather boundaries to the dispatch boundaries in Nevada.  WFO LKN and WFO REV, in conjunction with its fire partners, have redrawn the zone boundaries to better reflect the climatology, weather differences, and administrative needs of the area. Matching fire zones to the dispatch areas aids dispatch decisions when red flag conditions are met or expected to occur, which ultimately leads to more efficient use and allocation of core partner resources.



NVZ424: Southeastern Humboldt County and northern Lander County

NVZ425: White Pine and Northeast Nye Counties

NVZ426: Northern Nye County - Mojave

NVZ427: Central Nevada - Toiyabe

NVZ437: Humboldt County - Quinn

NVZ438: Western Elko County, northern Eureka and Lander Counties north of Interstate 80

CAZ271: Western Lassen/Eastern Plumas/Eastern Sierra/Eastern Nevada Counties

CAZ274: Southern Mono County

CAZ278: Eastern Lassen County

NVZ420: Northern Sierra Front - Carson City/Douglas/Storey/Southern Washoe/Eastern Lyon/Far Southern Lassen Counties

NVZ421: Southern Sierra Front - Alpine/Northern Mono/Southern Lyon/Western Mineral Counties

NVZ423: Western Humboldt Basin - Pershing County



NVZ454: Central Lander and Eureka Counties

NVZ455: White Pine County

NVZ457: Northern Nye County/Lander and Eureka Counties South of Highway 50 

NVZ467: Central and Western Humboldt County

NVZ468: Eastern Humboldt County and Northwestern Elko County

CAZ271: Western Lassen/Eastern Plumas/Eastern Sierra/Eastern Nevada Counties

CAZ273: Mono and Eastern Alpine Counties

CAZ278: Eastern Lassen County

NVZ450: Western Nevada Sierra Front

NVZ453: West Central Nevada Basin and Range

NVZ458: Northern Washoe County

NVZ459: Mineral and Southern Lyon Counties