National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

NWS Wichita
Storm Fury on the Plains
2017 Schedule

 

Meteorologists from the National Weather Service office in Wichita has partnered with your local Emergency Management office and will be presenting information that will help prepare storm spotters and weather enthusiasts for the upcoming storm season. Our staff will provide an in depth weather presentation that will engage the audience by teaching them about the different types of storms, the individual storm features that help a person to recognize a storms potential severity, how to report hazardous weather, and severe weather safety.

The presentations are hosted by local county Emergency Management agencies and typically last up to two hours. They are open to anyone that has an interest in weather. There are no fees to attend, you do not have to register, and you do not have to sign up to be a spotter. So, if you are interested in learning more about severe thunderstorms and their hazards, please take the time to come out and join us for a very interesting and enjoyable evening.

For more information please contact your local county Emergency Manager or NWS.Wichita@noaa.gov.

 

Thursday 2/23/2017 630 pm Saline Co. Salina

Kansas Wesleyan Univ.

(Sams Chapel Pioneer Hall)

100 E. Claflin Ave.
             
Monday 2/27/2017 630 pm Kingman Co. Kingman

Kingman Historic Theater

237 N. Main
Tuesday 2/28/2017

230 pm

630 pm

Cowley Co.

Strother Field

South of Winfield

Cowley Cinema 8 23046 Avery Ave.
Wednesday 3/1/2017 630 pm Sumner Co. Wellington Wellington HS Auditorium 1700 E. 16th Street
Thursday 3/2/2017 630 pm Harvey Co. Newton Santa Fe MS, Lindley Hall 700 Block of N. Poplar
             
Tuesday 3/7/2017 630 pm Sedgwick Co. Wichita Central Community Church 6100 W. Maple
Wednesday 3/8/2017 630 pm Reno Co. Hutchinson Hutch Fire Training Center 3201 E. 4th
Thursday 3/9/2017

230 pm

630 pm

Barton Co. Great Bend Crest Theater 1908 Lakiin Ave.
             
Monday 3/13/2017 630 pm Elk Co. Howard Cox Building 100 Washington
Tuesday 3/14/2017 630 pm Allen Co. Iola

Bowlus Fine Arts Center

(Creitz Recital Hall)

205 E. Madison Ave.
Wednesday 3/15/2017 630 pm Lincoln Co. Lincoln Lincoln Park Manor (Basement) 922 N. 5th St.
Thursday 3/16/2017 630 pm Butler Co. Augusta Point Event Center 2101 Dearborn St.
             
Monday 3/20/2017 630 pm Harper Co. Anthony/Harper Chaparral JR/SR HS Auditorium  
Tuesday 3/21/2017 630 pm McPherson Co. McPherson Community Building 122 E. Marlin St.
Wednesday 3/22/2017 630 pm Montgomery Co. Independence

Memorial Hall / Civic Center

Veterans Room

400 N. Penn
Thursday 3/23/2017 630 pm Wilson Co. Fredonia Old Iron Club 10392 Jade Rd.
             
Monday 3/27/2017 630 pm Ellsworth Co. Ellsworth JH Robbins Library 219 N. Lincoln Ave.
Tuesday 3/28/2017 630 pm Russell Co. Russell Dream Theater 629 N. Main St.
Wednesday 3/29/2017 630 pm Woodson Co. Yates Center Rural Fire Barn  
Thursday 3/30/2017 630 pm Greenwood Co. Eureka Eureka HS Auditorium 815 N. Jefferson St.
             
Monday 4/3/2017 630 pm Neosho Co. St. Paul High School Gym  
Wednesday 4/5/2017 630 pm Chase Co. Strong City City Hall/Depot