National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

National Weather Service officials have recognized Choctaw County Alabama as a StormReady® county. The StormReady® program helps community leaders and residents better prepare for hazardous weather and flooding.  StormReady® counties have made a strong commitment to implement the infrastructure and systems needed to save lives and protect property when severe weather strikes.

Jeffrey Medlin, Meteorologist in Charge, and Jason Beaman, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, of the National Weather Service forecast office in Mobile, AL presented county officials with a certificate and special StormReady® signs during a ceremony at the Choctaw County Courthouse during the county commission meeting on February 9th, 2016.

“This StormReady® recognition is a testament to the hard work and dedication of Choctaw County and their commitment to public safety. We are proud to stand with them and recognize their proactive efforts in severe weather preparedness and response,” said Jason Beaman.

The nationwide community preparedness program, founded in 1999, is a grassroots approach to preparing for natural hazards. Today, more than 2,200 U.S. communities are better prepared for severe weather through the StormReady® program.

“StormReady® reminds and educates citizens what to look for and what to do prior to and during a severe weather event, and helps citizens feel safer knowing that EMA and NWS are consistently monitoring the weather,” said Tyler Davidson, Choctaw County Emergency Management Agency Director.

To be recognized as StormReady®, a county must maintain a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center; have more than one way to receive National Weather Service warnings and to alert the public; be able to monitor local weather and flood conditions; conduct community preparedness programs; and ensure hazardous weather and flooding are addressed in formal emergency management plans, which include training SKYWARN® weather spotters and holding emergency exercises.

The StormReady® program is part of the National Weather Service's working partnership with the International Association of Emergency Managers and the National Emergency Management Association.  The StormReady® recognition is valid for three years and can be renewed.


NWS Mobile Presents Choctaw County With Their StormReady Sign

NWS Mobile Presents Choctaw County With Their StormReady® Sign

Pictured From Left To Right: Tyler Davidson, NWS Meteorologist in Charge Jeff Medlin, Commissioner Budd Ruffin, Judge Michael Armistead, NWS Warning Coordination Meteorologist Jason Beaman, Commissioner Tony Cherry, Commissioner Mack Mosley and Commissioner Sammy Bonner.