National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

WFO Huntsville celebrated its office dedication on January 30, 2003. Here are some pictures from the event.

Dedication Day: January 30, 2003

EMA Directors

Northern Alabama EMA directors joined U.S. Rep. Bud Cramer (D-AL) and WFO Huntsville MIC John Gordon for the ceremony.

From left to right: Victor Manning, Jackson County EMA; U.S. Rep. Bud Cramer, D-AL; Jim McCamy, North Alabama Area Coordinator; George Grabryan, Lauderdale County EMA; Matt McCrackin, Marion County EMA; Ethelene Duster, Lauderdale County EMA; Ricky Little, De Kalb County EMA; Rusty Russell, Madison County EMA; Spencer Black, Limestone County EMA; Ann Coffey, Lawrence County EMA; Dan Isley, Cullman County EMA; Eddie Hicks, Morgan County EMA; Julie Brown, Marshall County EMA; John Gordon, WFO Huntsville MIC; Carol Frederick, Franklin County EMA.

Director Proenza
Southern Region Director Bill Proenza speaks to invited guests at the ceremony.

Representative Cramer
U.S. Rep. Bud Cramer (at podium, right) speaks as Dr. Frank Franz, University of Alabama in Huntsville president (left) and John Jones, Deputy Director of the National Weather Service (center) look on.

Coordinator McCamy
North Alabama EMA Area Coordinator Jim McCamy speaks at the dedication ceremony.

Climatologist Christy
Alabama state climatologist John Christy speaks about climatology in Madison County at the dedication ceremony.

Director McNider
NSSTC Director Dick McNider speaks at the dedication ceremony.

President Franz
UAH President Frank Franz speaks at the dedication ceremony.

Deputy Director Jones
NWS Deputy Director John Jones speaks at the dedication ceremony.

A full house is on hand for the ceremony.

Worsham and Boyd discuss office
Lead forecaster Robert Boyd discusses the new WFO with Scott Worsham, Emergency Management Officer with the Madison County EMA.

Little, McCamy, and Jones
Area Coordinator Jim McCamy (center) and De Kalb County EMA Director Ricky Little (left) chat with NWS Deputy Director John Jones (right).

Mayor Spencer
Huntsville mayor Loretta Spencer attended the ceremony.

Hydrologist works with AWIPS
Service Hydrologist Michael Murphy works with WFO Huntsville's AWIPS system as members of UAH and the NWS meet in the Collaborative Research Area.

Tour led by MIC John Gordon
WFO Huntsville MIC John Gordon provides a tour to invited guests of the dedication ceremony.

Vortex Chamber
The Alabama State EMA was gracious enough to loan WFO Huntsville its tornado vortex chamber for the day.