National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

December 11th Heavy Snow Event

A rare early December heavy snow event unfolded across the south starting late on the 10th and really ramping up on the 11th. An upper level low deepened across the northern gulf and produced a swath of snow from southeast Texas, Louisiana, and into Mississippi. This was an unsual snow because temperatures ranged from 32 to 35 degrees where the snow fell. The upper low provided its own cold air and that was enough to allow rain to change to snow, especially where precipitation was heavy. Snowfall amounts ranged from 1 to 9 inches across our service area. The heaviest snow fell within an axis from McComb to Morton Mississippi. Areas that did receive more than 2 or 3 inches had trees and power lines down from the weight of the snow which resulted in many power outages. Roads were slick as well because of the fast accumulation and slushy conditions. Numerous accidents have occurred from the hazardous road conditions.

Click below to see precipitation totals across the area. These totals are the water equivalent of any precipitation that fell. The totals include rainfall, melted sleet, and melted snow.                                                                                                             










Total Snow Accumulations

3-4 E New Hebron NW Jeff Davis County 9 Inches
Bogue Chitto Lincoln County 8 Inches
New Hebron Lawrence County 8 Inches
Martinville Simpson County 7 Inches
Magee Simpson County 5 Inches
Hillsboro Scott County 5 Inches
Columbia Marion County 5 Inches
Kokomo Marion County 5 Inches
Jayess Lawrence County 5 Inches
Brookhaven Lincoln County 5 Inches
Roosevelt St Park Scott County 5 Inches
Florence Rankin County 5 Inches
D'Lo Simpson County 4.75 Inches
Collins Covington County 4.5 Inches
Braxton Simpson County 4 Inches
Topeka Lawrence County 4 Inches
Crystal Springs Copiah County 4 Inches
Mize Smith County 4 Inches
Taylorsville Smith County 4 Inches
West Hattiesburg Lamar County 4 Inches
Prentiss Jeff Davis County 4 Inches
Oma Lawrence County 4 Inches
Mt Olive Covington County 3.5 Inches
Johns Rankin County 3.5 Inches
3S Madden Leake County 3 Inches
Puckett Rankin County 3 Inches
2N White Oak Smith County 3 Inches
5E McCall Creek Lincoln County 3 Inches
Hazlehurst Copiah County 3 Inches
Brandon Rankin County 2.5 Inches
Bay Springs Jasper County 2.5 Inches
McCall Creek Franklin County 2 Inches
Purvis Lamar County 2 Inches
Sebastapol Scott County 1 Inch
Rose Hill Jasper County 1 Inch
Ellisville Jones County 1 Inch
Roxie Franklin County 1 Inch
NWS Jackson Rankin County 0.9 Inches
Hattiesburg Forrest County 0.8 Inches

These reports are based on reports from Emergency Management, Law Enforcement, Post Offices, NWS Employees, CoCoRaHs and Cooperative Observers, Broadcast Media, and the Public.