National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce
Our area of responsibility covers southeast and south central Colorado. The counties in our area of responsibility are:
Alamosa, Bent, Baca, Costilla, Conejos, Crowley, Custer, Chaffee, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Lake,  Mineral, Otero, Prowers,  Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache and Teller

The topography of our area is extremely diverse, as you can see from the topographic map below.


We recently realigned our zones to reflect the topography better. Many of our zone lines are based on an elevation contour. For a more detailed map showing our zones and related elevations, click on the thumbnail below. 

Click above map to enlarge

 Link Zone descriptions - text

Our products are issued either by zone or by county. Zone codes are listed in the above table. County names, and associated FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standard) codes, are pictured below.