National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

National Weather Service Cheyenne, WY

Thank you for visiting the National Weather Service (NWS) in Cheyenne, WY webpage. NWS Cheyenne operates 24/7/365 and serves southeast Wyoming and the western Nebraska Panhandle.

NWS Cheyenne consists of a Meteorologist-in-Charge (MIC), Warning and Coordination Meteorologist (WCM), Science and Operations Officer (SOO), Administrative Support Assistant (ASA), Thirteen Operational Meteorologists, Observation Program Leader (OPL), Electronics Systems Analyst (ESA), Information Technology Officer (ITO), Two Electronics Technicians (ET) and Facilities Engineering Technician (FET).

Our office covers 7 counties in southeast Wyoming and 8 counties in the Nebraska Panhandle. We issue forecasts, watches, advisories, and warnings for our county warning area. We also do outreach in southeast Wyoming and the Nebraska Panhandle including but not limited to spotter talks, school talks for various grades, safety presentations, and more. 


The above CWA map was created November 2019.