National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

NWS Wichita
Storm Fury on the Plains
2019 Schedule


** 3 Advanced presentations added this year **

 

Meteorologists from the National Weather Service office in Wichita have partnered with your local Emergency Management office and will be presenting information that will help prepare storm spotters and weather enthusiasts for the upcoming storm season. Our staff will provide an in depth weather presentation that will engage the audience by teaching them about the different types of storms, the individual storm features that help a person to recognize a storms potential severity, how to report hazardous weather, and severe weather safety.

The presentations are hosted by local county Emergency Management agencies and typically last up to two hours. They are open to anyone that has an interest in weather. There are no fees to attend, you do not have to register, and you do not have to sign up to be a spotter. So, if you are interested in learning more about severe thunderstorms and their hazards, please take the time to come out and join us for a very interesting and enjoyable evening.

For more information please contact your local county Emergency Manager or NWS.Wichita@noaa.gov.

 

 


 

Completed Presentations

 

Wednesday 4/10/2019 630 pm Greenwood Co. Eureka Eureka High School Auditorium
Thursday 4/4/2019 6:30 pm Sedgwick Wichita Wilbur Middle School - 340 N Tyler Rd
Friday 4/5/2019 630 pm Montgomery Independence Independence Community College - Auditorium
Monday 4/1/2019 630 pm Kingman Co. Kingman Expo Center - 121 S. Main
Thursday 3/28/2019 630 pm Harvey Co. Newton Lindley Hall - 720 N. Poplar
Wednesday 3/27/2019 630 pm Ellsworth Co. Ellsworth Ellsworth High School Auditorium
Tuesday 3/26/2019 630 pm Russell Co. Russell Dream Theater
Monday 3/25/2019 630 pm Montgomery Co. Independence Memorial Hall
Thursday 3/21/2019 630 pm Butler Co. Augusta Point Events Center - 2101 Dearborn St.
Wednesday 3/20/2019 630 pm Rice Co. Lyons Lyons State Bank Comm. Rm - 101 E. Main
Tuesday 3/19/2019 630 pm Wilson Co. Fredonia Old Iron Club - 10392 Jake Rd.
Thursday 3/14/2019 630 pm McPherson Co. McPherson Opera House - 219 S. Main St.
Wednesday 3/13/2019 630 pm Marion Co. Marion Marion High School Auditorium
Monday 3/11/2019 630 pm Allen Co. Iola Bowlus Fine Arts Center - Creitz Recital Hall
Tuesday 3/12/2019 630 pm Elk Co. Howard Cox Building
Thursday 3/7/2019 230 & 630 pm Barton Co. Great Bend Crest Theater
Tuesday 3/5/2019 630 pm Sedgwick Co. Wichita Central Community Church - 6100 W. Maple - Sanctuary
Monday 3/4/2019 630 pm Chautauqua Co. Sedan Senior Center - 124 E. Main St.
Thursday 2/28/2019 630 pm Harper Co. Chaparral HS Auditorium - 467 N State Rd 14
Wednesday 2/27/2019 630 pm Sumner Co. Wellington Wellington High School
Tuesday 2/26/2019 630 pm Cowley Co.   Central Cinema 8
Monday 2/25/2019 630 pm Lincoln Co. Lincoln Lincoln Park Manor - Basement 911 N. 6th
Thursday 2/21/2019 630 pm Woodson Co. Yates Center Rural Fire Barn
Monday 2/11/2019 630 pm Saline Co. Salina Salina South HS Auditorium
Tuesday 2/12/2019 630 pm Labette Co. Altamont Labette Co. HS Little Auditorium
Wednesday 2/13/2019 630 pm Neosho Co. Chanute Neosho CC - Sanders Hall
Wednesday 2/20/2019 630 pm Reno Co. Hutchinson Hutch Fire Training Center - 3201 E. 4th