National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

NWS Wichita
Storm Fury on the Plains
2020 Schedule


 

Meteorologists from the National Weather Service office in Wichita have partnered with your local Emergency Management office and will be presenting information that will help prepare storm spotters and weather enthusiasts for the upcoming storm season. Our staff will provide an in depth weather presentation that will engage the audience by teaching them about the different types of storms, the individual storm features that helps a person to recognize a storms potential severity, how to report hazardous weather, and severe weather safety.

The presentations are hosted by local county Emergency Management agencies and typically last up to two hours. They are open to anyone that has an interest in weather. There are no fees to attend, you do not have to register, and you do not have to sign up to be a spotter. So, if you are interested in learning more about severe thunderstorms and their hazards, please take the time to come out and join us for a very interesting and enjoyable evening.

For more information please contact your local county Emergency Manager or NWS.Wichita@noaa.gov.

 

 


 

Presentations

 

Monday 2/10/2020 630 pm Kingman Co. Kingman Expo Center - 121 S. Main St.
Tuesday 2/11/2020 630 pm Labette Altamont Altamont HS - Little Auditorium
           
Tuesday 2/18/2020 630 pm Neosho Co. Chanute Neosho Comm College - Sanders Auditorium
Wednesday 2/19/2020 630 pm Saline Co. Salina Salina South HS Auditorium
Thursday 2/20/2020 630 pm Harper Co. Anthony Chaparral HS Auditorium
           
Monday 2/24/2020 630 pm Allen Co. Iola Bowlus Fine Arts Center - Creitz Recital Hall
Tuesday 2/25/2020 230 & 630 pm Cowley Co. Cowley Cinema 8 Strother Field
Wednesday 2/26/2020 630 pm Sumner Co. Wellington Wellington HS - Auditorium
Thursday 2/27/2020 630 pm Elk Co. Howard Cox Building
           
Monday 3/2/2020 630 pm Montgomery Coffeyville Coffeyville Community College - Union Bldg. 400 W. 11th
Tuesday 3/3/2020 630 pm Sedgwick Co. Wichita Northwest HS Auditorium
Wednesday 3/4/2020 630 pm Greenwood Co. Eureka Eureka HS Auditorium
Thursday 3/5/2020 630 pm Marion Co. Hillsboro Tabor College - Shari Fleming Center for the Arts
           
Monday 3/9/2020 630 pm Reno Co. Hutchinson Hutch Fire Training Center - 3201 E. 4th
Tuesday 3/10/2020 230 & 630 pm Barton Co. Great Bend Crest Theater - 1905 Lakin Ave.
Wednesday 3/11/2020 630 pm Rice Co. Lyons Celebration Centre East Room - 1145 US-56
Thursday 3/12/2020 630 pm Butler Co. Augusta Point Events Center - 2101 Dearborn St.
           
Monday 3/16/2020 630 pm Lincoln Co. Lincoln Lincoln Park Manor Basement
Tuesday 3/17/2020 630 pm Wilson Co. Neodesha Civic Center - 1407 N. 8th
           
Monday 3/23/2020 630 pm Woodson Co. Yates Center Rural Fire Barn
Tuesday 3/24/2020 630 pm Russell Co. Russell Dream Theater - 629 N. Main St.
Wednesday 3/25/2020 630 pm Ellsworth Co. Ellsworth Ellsworth High School Auditorium
Thursday 3/26/2020 630 pm Harvey Co. Newton Newton HS Auditorium - 900 W. 12th St.
           
Monday 3/30/2020 630 pm Chase Co. Matfield Green Fire Station Community Meeting Room - 103 S. Reed St.
Tuesday 3/31/2020 630 pm Chautauqua Co. Sedan Senior Center - 124 E. Main St.
           
Thursday 4/2/2020 630 pm McPherson Co. McPherson Opera House - 219 S. Main St.