National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

 

Hurricane Marco

Marco developed from a fast-moving tropical south of Jamaica on the morning of August 20th, and was upgraded to a tropical storm during the evening of August 21st. Marco continued to move north northwestward and briefly intensified into a minimum hurricane on August 23rd. Marco quickly weakened later that evening due to increased wind shear.

As Marco turned westward, it passed just south of the mouth of the Mississippi River around 6 PM CDT August 24th as a weak tropical storm. Marco weakened to a remnant low early on August 25th south of Morgan City, LA.

Scattered showers across Southern Louisiana and Southeast Texas, along with much higher humidity, resulted as the remnant low of Marco passed south of the Louisiana coast on August 25th, with no other storm effects noted.



Above: GOES 16 GeoColor Satellite Image of Hurricane Marco at 1801 UTC (1:01 PM CDT) on August 23, 2020.


Above: New Orleans, LA WSR-88D radar image of Tropical Storm Marco Landfall at 2304 UTC (6:04 PM CDT) on August 24, 2020.


Above: Hurrevac track of Hurricane Marco from operational National Hurricane Center public advisories.

Radar and Satellite Animated Imagery
(NWS LCH YouTube)
Radar Imagery: Mobile, AL New Orleans, LA Lake Charles, LA 
     
GOES 16 Satellite Imagery: 4km Infrared 4km Visible 4km GeoColor
  2km Infrared 1km Visible 1km GeoColor


Listed below are post-storm reports and meteorological data gathered. All data is considered preliminary, and is subject to change at any time. Additional information will continue to be added to this page in the future.

Post Tropical Cyclone Reports
Lake Charles, LA New Orleans, LA Mobile, AL
  National Hurricane Center  


Webpage by: Donovan Landreneau
Data collection by: Donovan Landreneau