National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

Local Area StormReady® Recognitions   


  • Rock Island Arsenal (Garrison and JMTC)
  • Galva, IL 


  • Benton County, IA 
  • Buchanan County, IA
  • Cedar County, IA 
  • Clinton County, IA 
  • Delaware County, IA
  • Des Moines County, IA 
  • Dubuque County, IA
  • Iowa County, IA 
  • Johnson County, IA 
  • Jones County, IA
  • Linn County, IA
  • Louisa County, IA
  • McDonough County, IL 
  • Mercer County, IL
  • Rock Island County, IL
  • Scott County, Iowa
  • Stephenson County, IL 
  • Washington County, IA


  • Augustana College
  • Monmouth College 
  • The University of Iowa
  • University of Dubuque

StormReady Supporters

  • KCRG-TV9 
  • Deere & Company World Headquarters
  • Kirkwood Community College
  • McDonough District Hospital
  • Howard H. Cherry Scout Reservation 
  • MidAmerican Energy Riverside Generating Station 
  • Johnson County Conservation Board (F.W. Kent Park) 



Stormready logo





About StormReady®

Stormready logoNinety percent of all presidential declared disasters are weather related, leading to around 500 deaths per year and nearly $14 billion in damage. To help Americans guard against the ravages of severe weather, the National Weather Service has designed StormReady, a program aimed at arming America's communities with the communication and safety skills necessary to save lives and property.

StormReady prepares communities with an action plan that responds to the risk of all types of severe weather - from tornadoes to tsunamis. The entire community from the mayor, emergency managers, to business leaders and civic groups can take the lead on becoming StormReady. Local National Weather Service forecast offices work with communities to complete an application and review process. To be recognized as StormReady, a community must:

  • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
  • Have more than one way to receive severe weather forecasts and warnings and to alert the public;
  • Create a system that monitors local weather conditions;
  • Promote the importance of public readiness through community seminars;
  • Develop a formal hazardous weather plan, which includes training severe weather spotters and holding emergency exercises.

Organizations not meeting the guidelines for full StormReady recognition may qualify as a StormReady Supporter.  StormReady Supporters promote the principles and guidelines of the StormReady program.  Examples of potential StormReady Supporters include businesses, hospitals, shopping centers and malls, schools, state parks, etc.

How to Be Recognized as StormReady®

There are three easy steps to becoming StormReady in the NWS Quad Cities area of responsibility. If you have jurisdiction over a community as well as unincorporated areas of the surrounding county, you only need to submit one application with the combined populations.

  1. For locations within the NWS Quad Cities area of responsibility, contact (Note: If you are from outside the NWS Quad Cities area of responsibility, contact the Warning Coordination Meteorologist at your local NWS office.)

  2. Review the StormReady guidelines for your type of community/organization:

  1. Fill out the appropriate form and send it to Please include a copy of the severe weather portion of your preparedness and response plan(s).

What happens next?

  • Your application will be reviewed by NWS Quad Cities.
  • We may ask for clarifications or note areas of concern throughout the process.
  • When it appears that the guidelines have been met, we will contact you to arrange a site visit.
  • Once any outstanding issues have been resolved, we will approve your application.
  • Once the application has been approved, we can help you arrange an optional recognition ceremony