National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce


Scott and Rock Island Counties Earn StormReady Recognition


The Tri-state StormReady Advisory Board and the National Weather Service office in the Quad Cities have recognized Scott and Rock Island Counties as StormReady.  The recognition was formally presented at a ceremony on Thursday, May 26th, at the Rock Island County EMA in Milan.


The NWS designed StormReady to help communities, businesses, and other organizations better prepare for and mitigate the effects of extreme weather-related events. StormReady sets an industry standard for severe weather preparedness, communication, and safety.  


For more information on StormReady, visit the following links:

StormReady in the local area:
StormReady Communities (national list):
National StormReady Program:

Pictured from L to R: Jim Hawkes (Scott Co.EMA), Rich Kinney (NWS Quad Cities),

Matt DeSmyter (Rock Island Co. EMA), T.J. Gunkel (NWS Quad Cities)