National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

The mission of the National Weather Service (NWS), under the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and Department of Commerce (DOC), is the protection of life and property from natural disasters by issuing warnings and forecasts for all manners of hazardous weather, and to enhance the national economy. This mission is carried out by weather forecast offices (WFOs) and national centers located throughout the U.S. and its territories, along with a highly trained staff of dedicated men and women.

Station History for WFO Louisville

From day-to-day weather forecasts, to warnings of potentially dangerous storms, the National Weather Service is present 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Our office is located in Louisville, Kentucky in south-central Jefferson County, and issues public forecasts and severe weather warnings and watches for 49 counties in central Kentucky and 10 counties in south-central Indiana. We maintain a constant vigil, issue routine forecasts and climatic information, and if threatening weather approaches, issue warnings and special statements as necessary.  Other NWS offices in or near Kentucky have local warning and forecast responsibility for surrounding areas.

How we collect weather data

Positions held at the NWS office in Louisville include:

Meteorologist-in-Charge, John D. Gordon
Warning Coordination Meteorologist
Science and Operations Officer

5 Lead Forecasters
5 Journeyman Forecasters

Operations Program Leader
Public Service Desk

Electronic Systems Analyst
2 Electronic Technicians
Information Technology Officer

Administrative Assistant

Student volunteers

Program Areas
AHPS/Hydrology Outreach/Educational Materials
Climatology Science, Research, & Technology
Fire Weather Severe Weather
Forecasts: Aviation Skywarn Program
Forecasts: Local Area  
NOAA Weather Radio