National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce


United States Post Office Releases
Cloudscapes Stamps

The United States Postal Service (USPS) has issued a 15-stamp set commemorating various types of clouds.  Known as the 'Cloudscapes' series, nine of the ten basic cloud types are depicted.  The stamps in the series are shown below, arranged according to altitude. Clicking on a stamp will give you a larger image of the stamp, as well as the brief text which describes that particular cloud type on the back of the stamp.


Cirrus Radiatus
Image of Cirrus Radiatus

Cirrostratus Fibratus
Image of Cirrostratus Fibratus

Cirrocumulus Undulatus
Image of Cirrocumulus Undulatus

Cumulonimbus Mammatus
Image of Cumulonimbus Mammatus


Cumulonimbus Incus
Image of Cumulonimbus Incus


Altocumulus Stratiformis
Image of Altocumulus Stratiformis

Altostratus Translucidus
Image of Altostratus Translucidus

Altocumulus Undulatus
Image of Altocumulus Undulatus

Altocumulus Castellanus
Image of Altocumulus Castellanus


Altocumulus Lenticularis
Image of Altocumulus Lenticularis


Stratocumulus Undulatus
Image of Stratocumulus Undulatus

Stratus Opacus
Image of Stratus Opacus

Cumulus Humilis
Image of Cumulis Humilis

Cumulus Congestus
Image of Cumulus Congestus


Cumulonimbus with Tornado
Image of Image of Cumulonimbus with Tornado





Page last modified: October 7, 2004