National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

May 1st Severe Weather Pecos and Scurry Counties

Read More >

Meteorologists from the National Weather Service in Midland/Odessa conduct storm spotter training sessions each year to help prepare spotters for the upcoming severe weather season. The NWS conducts the training in partnership with local emergency management officials who often help organize the training and who, in most cases are responsible for maintaining their local storm spotter network.

All training sessions for 2022 will be conducted online. Each class is free and open to the public. The schedule below includes links to register for whichever session is most convenient for you. 

*For those wanting to learn more about the science of severe storms, we will be offering one extended class this year on 3/29/22 that will include both basic and advanced SKYWARN material.

If you're interested in becoming a spotter and cannot attend any of the available classes listed below, feel free to take this online course.


2022 SKYWARN Virtual Training Sessions

 

Date Time Webinar Link
Thursday, February 24 7:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM MST Register Here
Tuesday, March 1 7:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM MST Register Here
Monday, March 7 7:30 PM CST / 6:30 PM MST Register Here
Thursday, March 24 7:00 PM CDT / 6:00 PM MDT Register Here
Tuesday, March 29 *Advanced Session 6:30 PM CDT / 5:30 PM MDT Register Here