National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

Hurricane Maria Forecast To Bring Impacts To East Coast

Hurricane Maria will approach the Mid-Atlantic coast early this week then finally shove eastward into the open Atlantic. Maria will likely not make landfall but will come close to portions of North Carolina midweek and could bring tropical storm force winds, locally heavy rain, storm surge, and very rough surf. Maria will create hazardous surf and rip currents for much of the East Coast this week. Read More >


Office Picture



  • Steve Wilkinson, Meteorologist in Charge (MIC)
  • Dr. William Martin, Science and Operations Officer (SOO)
  • Tony Sturey, Warning Coordination Meteorologist (WCM)
  • Vacant, Electronics Systems Analyst (ESA)
  • Chris Horne, Observing Program Leader (OPL)
  • Katie Fox, Administrative Services Assistant (ASA)


Information Technology Officer

  • Angel Montanez


Service Hydrologist

  • Joshua Palmer


Lead Forecasters

  • Rodney Hinson (WSR-88D Focal Point)
  • Harry Gerapetritis (PC/Automation, IFPS/GFE)
  • Pat Moore (Case Study Focal Point and Co Web master)
  • Justin Lane (Severe Weather, Storm Data and Verification Focal Point)
  • Trisha Palmer(Decision Support Services Team Leader, Integrated Warning Team Focal Point)


General Forecasters

  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Andrew Kimball (Tropical, Aviation, and Gridded Verification Focal Point)
  • Jake Wimberley (AWIPS Focal Point)
  • Danny Gant (GIS Programmer, Winter Weather, and Co Web master)


Hydro Meteorological Technician

  • Doug Outlaw (Observations, Asst. Safety and Health, Coop QC&Supplies)


Meteorologist Interns

  • Scott Krentz (Librarian, and Fire Weather Focal Point)
  • Jeffrey Taylor (Climatology, Satellite, and Diversity/EEO Focal Point)
  • Lauren Visin (Social Media Focal Point)


Electronics Technicians

  • Joe Figueiredo (Environmental Compliance Focal Point)
  • Lee Huber


Regional Maintenance Specialist

  • Brian Campbell


Facilities Engineering Technician

  • John Clark