National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

Severe Weather Threat Continues Across the Central U.S.; Critical Fire Weather Conditions in New Mexico

Severe thunderstorms will continue to be likely across the Central Plains into the Midwest on Monday. Thunderstorm development is also possible in portions of the Middle Mississippi Valley to Lower Michigan Monday afternoon. Gusty winds and low humidity will lead to critical fire weather conditions Monday across western New Mexico into southeastern Arizona. Read More >


  NWS Charleston, SC office

Contact Information


Phone: (843) 747-5860





The Charleston, South Carolina forecast office of the National Weather Service is a 24x7x365 operation that has weather forecast and severe weather warning responsibility for 8 counties in southeast South Carolina, 12 counties in northern portions of southeast Georgia and a portion of the Atlantic Ocean waters from the Santee River in South Carolina to the Altamaha River in Georgia. We routinely issue a variety of observational/forecast products, including specialized products for the aviation, marine, fire, hydrology and climate communities.  We also issue watches, warnings and advisories as needed for hazardous weather. In addition, we are one of many forecast offices that routinely release weather balloons twice per day to collect upper-air observations for our weather computer models. Lastly, we work closely with federal, state and local government officials to educate them on weather hazards/risks and assist with their critical public safety decisions. Check out the videos below to learn more about what we do!

To access our office brochure, click here.


Virtual Tour

Learn more about our office and what we do by watching these short videos:

For more information about the NWS's mission and vision check out this page.


Office History

Learn about the history of our office and the evolution of weather observations at both Charleston and Savannah.
Charleston History Timeline     |     Savannah History Timeline


Office Newsletter

NOTE: You will need a free PDF reader to view these files.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions.


Office Staff


Brian Haines (Meteorologist-in-Charge)
Ron Morales (Warning Coordination Meteorologist)
Carl Barnes (Science and Operations Officer)
Arthur Patrick (Electronic Systems Analyst)


Vacant (Administrative Support Assistant)
Vacant (Information Technology Officer)
Dwight Koehn (Observation Program Leader)

Electronics Technicians

Scott Edwards
Trey Horn

Lead Meteorologists

Brian Adam 
Douglas Berry 
Neil Dixon 
Blair Holloway 
Peter Mohlin 
Steven Taylor 


Anna Dennis
Jonathan Lamb
Brittany MacNamara
Courtney Maskell
Emily McGraw 
Michael Stroz