National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce


  NWS Charleston, SC office



5777 South Aviation Ave.
North Charleston, SC 29406

Phone: (843) 747-5860



The Charleston, South Carolina forecast office of the National Weather Service is one of 120+ forecast offices across the country has weather forecast and severe weather warning responsibility for 8 counties in southeast South Carolina, 12 counties in northern portions of southeast Georgia and a portion of the Atlantic coastal waters from the Santee River in South Carolina to the Altamaha River in Georgia. We routinely issue a variety of observational/forecast products, including specialized products for the aviation, marine, fire, hydrology and climate communities. When severe weather, including tropical cyclones, threatens the area, we also issue watches, warnings and advisories to help protect lives and property. We also routinely release weather balloons twice per day to assist with national/global upper-air programs. Lastly, we work closely with other federal, state and local government officials as well as the media to educate them on weather hazards/risks and assist with their critical weather-sensitive decisions. Check out the videos below to learn more about what we do!

To access our office brochure, click here.


Virtual Tour

Learn more about our office and what we do by watching these short videos:

For more information about the NWS's mission and vision check out this page.


Office History

Learn about the history of our office and the evolution of weather observations at both Charleston and Savannah.
Charleston History Timeline     |     Savannah History Timeline



NOTE: You will need a free PDF reader to view these files.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions.




Vacant (Meteorologist-in-Charge)
Ron Morales (Warning Coordination Meteorologist)
Steve Rowley (Science and Operations Officer)
Arthur Patrick (Electronic Systems Analyst)


Julie Packett (Administrative Support Assistant)
Jeffrey Stewart (Information Technology Officer)
Dwight Koehn (Observation Program Leader)

Electronics Technicians

Russell Dreifus
Scott Edwards


Brian Adam 
Neil Dixon 
Blair Holloway 
Pete Mohlin 
Steven Taylor 

Doug Berry 
Robert Bright
Michael Stroz 
Jonathan Lamb 
Emily McGraw 
Rebecca Davidson 
Brittany MacNamara
Courtney Maskell