National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce

The National Weather Service awards observers for unusual and outstanding achievements in the field of meteorological observations. To be considered for an award an observer must usually have a long period of service as well as an exemplary record. We also recognize Cooperative Weather Observers with Length of Service Awards.


 Thomas Jefferson Award - The highest award that the National Weather Service presents to Cooperative Weather Observers. Only five Jefferson awards are given annually across the entire nation.


John Campanius Holm Award - The second highest award that the National Weather Service presents to Cooperative Weather Observers.  Twenty-five Holm Awards are given out annually across the nation.


Family Heritage Award - This award is granted to a family for recognition of continuous cooperative observations of at least 75 years.


Length of Service Award - The following individuals have received a length of service award from the National Weather Service in Jackson for their participation in the volunteer Cooperative Weather Observer program.

  • Rudy Young, Stearns, KY (30 year, 2013)
  • Major Sparks, Whitesburg, KY (15 year, 2012)
  • Dewey Lake, KY (50 year, 2012)
  • Doris Lowe, Baxter, KY (25 year, 2012)
  • Buckhorn Lake, KY (50 year, 2010)
  • Tom & Mrs. Westfall, Ivel, KY (30 year, 2007)
  • Rudy Young, Stearns, KY (25 year, 2006)
  • Robert "Bud" Cox, Mt. Vernon, KY (30 year, 2005)
  • Ramona Bowen, Whitesburg, KY (40 year, 2003)
  • Dewey Conn, Martin, KY (20 year)
  • Doris Lowe, Baxter, KY (10 year)
  • Larry McGeorge, Blackmont, KY
  • Charlie Tucker and Crew, Buckhorn Lake, KY
  • Nancy & Harold Kelly, Closplint, KY
  • Ester Childress, Fedscreek, KY (30 year)
  • Herky Robins, Fourmile, KY
  • Edith Caudill, Jeremiah, KY
  • Eddie Lundergan, Morehead, KY
  • Mike Brotzge & Robert Watts, Skyline, KY (20 year)
  • Seldon & Eula Skidmore, Slade, KY (15 year)
  • Philmore & Mona Bowen, Whitesburg, KY (30 year)