National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce


The evening of Wednesday, June 22 brought a favorable setup for tornadoes across northern Illinois.  NWS damage survey teams determined there were a total of 18 tornadoes in northern Illinois. This includes 15 across the NWS Chicago County Warning Area (CWA) and 3 across the NWS Quad Cities CWAIn addition, the Civil Air Patrol conducted several flights over the damage paths, which provided extremely valuable data in confirming and finalizing tornado paths.   

Tornadoes determined in the NWS Chicago County Warning Area are summarized in this Public Information Statement and grouped below by the three parent storms that produced them.


Supercell #1 ("Northern Storm")
  • West Brooklyn (Lee): EF-1
  • West Brooklyn Satellite (Lee): EF-0
  • Earlville (LaSalle): EF-1
  • Northeast of Earlville (LaSalle): EF-0
  • Northeast of Earlville (LaSalle): EF-1
  • Sheridan Area (LaSalle): EF-1

Supercell #2 ("Central Storm")

  • Troy Grove (LaSalle): EF-1
  • Northwest of Ottawa (LaSalle): EF-1
  • Dayton / North of Ottawa (LaSalle): EF-1
  • Marseilles / Seneca (LaSalle & Grundy): EF-2
  • Mazon (Grundy): EF-0
  • Clifton (Iroquois): EF-1

Supercell #3 ("Southern Storm")

  • Pontiac (Livingston): EF-2
  • Chatsworth (Livingston): EF-0
  • Cissna Park (Iroquois): EF-1 

The National Weather Service wishes to thank Emergency Management for incredible preparedness partnering and help in completing the damage data collection.  We also wish to thank storm spotters and amateur radio for vital communications throughout the event.  Finally we thank the media for relay of life saving warning and preparedness information to help keep everyone safe.  

nws logo Media use of NWS Web News Stories is encouraged!
Please acknowledge the NWS as the source of any news information accessed from this site.
nws logo