National Weather Service United States Department of Commerce
Upper Air
Weather Radio
Staff Listing

Office Tour
NOAA Weather Radio
    One of the methods that the National Weather Service uses to disseminate forecasts, watches, warnings, and advisories to the public is through the NOAA Weather Radio (NWR). Serving all of West Central and Southwest Florida, our broadcast area includes seven transmitters. These transmitters are located in Morriston (Levy County), Lecanto (Citrus County), Riverview (Hillsborough County), Sebring (Highlands County), Venice (Sarasota County), and Fort Myers (Lee County). Additionally, the transmitter in Largo (Pinellas County) is specialized for marine forecasts and warnings only

    In order to listen to NWR programming, you need to use a specialized radio receiver. Many of the newer models are equipped with Specific Area Message Encoding, or SAME, which enables your radio to sound an alarm only when a warning is posted for a specific county or counties
   NOAA Weather Radio Map of our County Warning Area